- Constitution of Australia

6. Definitions

6. "The Commonwealth" shall mean the Commonwealth of Australia as established under this Act.
"The States" shall mean such of the colonies of New South Wales, New Zealand, Queensland, Tasmania, Victoria, Western Australia, and South Australia, including the northern territory of South Australia, as for the time being are parts of the Commonwealth, and such colonies or territories as may be admitted into or established by the Commonwealth as States; and each of such parts of the Commonwealth shall be called "a State".
"Original States" shall mean such States as are parts of the Commonwealth at its establishment.

Constitution of Australia

Bill Of Rights
Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act

Chapter I - The Parliament

Part I - General
Part II - The Senate
Part III - The House of Representatives
Part IV - Both Houses of the Parliament
Part V - Powers of the Parliament

Chapter II - The Executive Government

The Executive Government

Chapter III - The Judicature

The Judicature

Chapter IV - Finance And Trade

Finance And Trade

Chapter V - The States

The States

Chapter VI - New States

New States

Chapter VII - Miscellaneous


Chapter VIII - Alteration Of The Constitution

Alteration Of The Constitution


Constitution Australia Definitions 2023
The Australian parliament’s power of banishment Policy Forum
King Charles is Australia's new head of state. When could that change? ABC News
Crafters of US Constitution had foresight to create document SC Times
What do we know about the Voice to Parliament design, and what do we still need to know? The Conversation